The Manor


Built in the 1130s The Manor is one of the oldest continuously inhabited houses in Britain and much of the original house remains virtually intact in spite of various changes over nine hundred years.

The upstairs hall is a room full of atmosphere and the echoes of nearly nine centuries of family conversations. It was used during World War II by Lucy Boston to give gramophone record recitals twice a week to the RAF. The 1929 EMG gramophone is still in use in this room.



After such success in December with A Christmas Carol, Martin Prest returns to the 900 year old Music Room to perform Dracula Part 1, Jonathan Harker’s Journal

Saturday 29 October & Sunday 30 October 2016

Master storyteller Martin Prest brings to life the story of Jonathan Harker’s journey to Transylvania and his initial, terrifying encounter with Count Dracula.

Doors open at 7.30pm for 8.00pm

Tickets: £16 to include a glass of wine or soft drink


Master storyteller Martin Prest again performs A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, bringing to life all 23 characters in this timeless Christmas classic, as Ebenezer Scrooge makes his journey through his Christmases past, present and future. 

Thursday 8 and Friday 9 December 2016

Doors open at 7.30pm for 8.00pm. Performance lasts one hour

Tickets: £16 to include a glass of wine or mince pie


Robert Lloyd Parry returns again to presents Ghost Stories by  M R James told by candlelight in the 900 year old Music Room

A Warning to the Curious  and Lost Hearts

Friday 18 November 2016

O Whistle and I’ll Come to You  and The Ash Tree

Saturday 19 November 2016, Sunday 18 December 2016, Saturday 28 January 2017, Friday 24 February 2017 and Sunday 26 March 2017

Casting the Runes and The Residence at Whitminster

Sunday 20 November 2016, Friday 16 December 2016, Friday 27 January 2017, Sunday 26 February 2017 and Saturday 25 March 2017

Canon Alberic’s Scrapbook  and The Mezzotint

Saturday 17 December 2016, Sunday 29 January 2017, Saturday 25 February 2017

A Warning to the Curious  and Lost Hearts

Friday 24 March 2017

Doors open at 7.30pm for 8.00pm

Tickets: £17.50, to include a glass of wine


For tickets to any of our events please telephone The Manor on

01480 463134 or email