The Manor


The garden is looking stunning.  Come early to see our wonderful collection of irises in bloom.  The old roses are also looking fabulous and should continue flowering for some time.

Built in the 1130s The Manor is one of the oldest continuously inhabited houses in Britain and much of the original house remains virtually intact in spite of various changes over nine hundred years.

The upstairs hall is a room full of atmosphere and the echoes of nearly nine centuries of family conversations. It was used during World War II by Lucy Boston to give gramophone record recitals twice a week to the RAF. The 1929 EMG gramophone is still in use in this room.



Robert Lloyd Parry - Ghost Stories by M R James in the 900 year old Music Room presents told by candlelight

Casting the Runes and The Residence at Whitminster
Friday 23 October, Saturday 21 November & Thursday 10 December

Canon Alberic’s Scrapbook  and The Mezzotint
Saturday 24 October & Friday 11 December

O Whistle and I’ll Come to You  and The Ash Tree
Sunday 25 October, Sunday 22 November & Saturday 12 December

A Warning to the Curious  and Lost Hearts
Friday 20 November & Sunday 13 December

Doors open at 7.30pm for 8.00pm
Tickets: £17.50, to include a glass of wine